Contextual Advertising: Quotation Marks vs. Negative Keywords

    Suppose you sell air conditioners and have created an advertising campaign in Yandex.Direct or adWords. You wrote an ad, indicated the keyword `air conditioners`. Now your ad will be shown to all users whose request includes “air conditioning”. Even if the user asks Yandex for “air conditioning repair”.

    At first glance, there’s nothing wrong with that - you’re not paying for impressions, but for clicks. And a user who is interested in repair is unlikely to click on your ad. However, "empty" impressions will lower your CTR, and the cost of a line item depends mainly on this indicator. As a result, in the future you will pay more per click.

    There are two methods of dealing with left displays. The first of them is negative keywords, the second is “quotation marks” (adwords strictly matches). There is an opinionthat in negative keywords is worse. However, it is not. 90% are better off using negative keywords.

    Screen from . Data from Wordstat, just a more intuitive view.

    Implementation through negative keywords will look like
    кондиционеры -компрессор -ремонт -мобильный -...

    Implementation through quotation marks
    air conditioners 
    "air conditioners reviews" 
    "lg air conditioners"

    There may be a mixture of quotation marks and negative keywords
    air conditioners 
    air conditioners reviews -compressor-repair -mobile -...
    lg air conditioners -compressor -repair -mobile -...

    Negative words soft filter, which is not prohibited, is allowed. Quotation marks are hard - what is not allowed is forbidden. Negative keywords leave garbage, and quotation marks along with garbage filter out useful queries. At first glance, it may seem that the more accurate, the better and always use quotation marks. However, this is not so.

    Unreasonable decrease in coverage - drain of money
    Suppose we arbitrarily reduce coverage. For example, turning off display on even hours. The number of clicks will decrease. In order to return clicks to the previous level, we will have to increase the bid and pay more per click. As a result, for the same number of clicks, we will need to pay more. Unreasonably reducing coverage, we drain money.

    In other words, splashing water with a child is not our goal.

    15% of Google searches have never been met before
    Some quotation proponents cite the fact that 15% of Google searches have never been seen before. And negative words cannot be cut off. However, it is understood that these queries are simply a unique combination of words and do not contain new words. It would be funny if Google users would come up with a billion new words a day.

    If the user enters “repair of air conditioners in Balashikha for 1000 rubles”, then this request is quietly omitted by the word “repair”.
    But to predict all the requests in the style of "air conditioning lg for 10,000 rubles with a guarantee" is impossible, so the quotation marks are lost here.

    Features of calculating CTR
    The cost of the positions depends on the CTR. The more CTR you have, the less you pay per click. However, which CTR does Yandex use to calculate? Just share clicks on impressions? It is unlikely that in this case the cost of positions immediately after creating the ads would jump very much due to statistical errors.

    For example, if you have only one impression, then clicks / impressions will be either 1/1 = 100% or 0/1 = 0%. And if there are no impressions, then the average CTR is not defined at all. Yandex uses a CTR forecast, not a simple average.

    If you don’t have any impressions, then the forecast will be equal to the average CTR of your competitors. Further, the more impressions you have, the more the forecast takes into account your click / impression ratio. Therefore, if our real CTR is higher than that of competitors, it’s more profitable for us to have more impressions. Since your forecast CTR is also increasing with impressions, which reduces the cost per click.

    The average skill of Yandex.Direct users is not high; more than half do not use negative keywords and other syntax. Therefore, be sure that your click / impression ratio will be higher than that of competitors.

    Impressions for calculating the forecast are taken into account for 28 days and for each keyword separately. Therefore, it’s more profitable for you to have one keyword with 1000 impressions than to split it into 10 by 100. Here negative keywords win, other methods involve fragmentation.

    Convenience of work
    According to the examples at the beginning of the article, it is obvious that using negative keywords is much more convenient. The text is much smaller and can be moved to the ad or campaign level. If you use quotation marks or a mixture, you need to enter a lot of text. And Direct has an unpleasant feature - when editing it displays all the keywords in a heap, separating them with a comma, and not each in a separate line. If there are more than 10 keywords, then finding something in this mess is difficult. Editing turns into flour.

    Yes, do not forget about the restriction of 4 thousand characters, which is easily exceeded with quotation marks and mixture. You have to create two or three ads. As a result, statistics need to be summarized in the head, but in order to edit one ad you need to change as many as three.

    Adwords is even more fun with strict compliance with word order. Those.
    "air conditioners moscow"
    in Yasha, these are [air conditioners Moscow], [air conditioners in Moscow], [Moscow air conditioners] on Google.

    If you use a mixture or quotation marks, then statistics on keywords are given differently and you have to summarize it in your head.

    Of course, the syntax is useful. But such cases are not more than a few percent.

    • A lot of garbage. More than 2/3 hits the trash. Need to use a mixture.
    • Very small budget. There is not enough budget to cover the entire coverage even at a rate of 1 cent. And at the same time, we need targeted traffic. Need to use quotation marks

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