A step-by-step course on creating a selling Landing Page from scratch. Part 1: Landing pages and traffic
We are launching the first training cycle of articles on single-page pages, traffic and building a sales system through the Internet. First of all, the course is intended for beginners and those who are just starting sales online, want to test the ideas of business and marketing, or want to get a new stream of customers in their business. We hope that for experienced professionals the course will give interesting ideas.
Landing pages and traffic
The online sales system is simple. At the initial stage, you have 2 main tools, these are landing pages (or as they are also called single-page or Landing Page) and traffic. All! Nothing more is needed. You need to understand how these tools work and think a little. The main goal is to create a working system, and here I will tell you how to do it.
Why do we need a single page?
One-page, in the usual sense, is a site that consists of one page and offers one specific product, service, application or service. It can be a physically sensible product, like bricks and flowers, or a digital product - courses, discs, trainings. Any services, ranging from plumbers, photographers, education, courses, and ending with catering and industrial construction. Or a site that is used to collect subscribers. This may be a site that receives traffic from an email newsletter. There are a huge number of applications, in the ideal case you can use the one-page system to solve your business problems. On the one hand, it’s not important what is on the site, but it’s important that this is one real problem that the client has and you can solve it. To make it more convenient, we’ll call the goods (physical and digital),
Why do single-page users work many times better than regular sites?
One page has one specific, clearly defined goal. Solve one customer problem that is well packaged visually. Therefore, it works better, since the user is offered one specific action. He can either do it or not. One-page simplifies the perception of information, since you yourself give the visitor answers to all his questions. He does not need to make an effort, to look for anything. You just bring him everything ready on a silver platter. You fully concentrate the person’s attention on the product / service, show the benefits that he will receive and solve his problem. Along with this, you close most of his objections and tell why he “wants” to buy here, now and from you.
The one-page does not have such problems as large sites, when the user forgets where and why he came, completely losing concentration on the product. Large sites have a huge selection of links, buttons, and actions you can do. Users are lost in the choices and the number of possible actions. A large percentage of sales is lost at the stage of the basket and multi-step application processing.
Using the Landing Page we are initially in a winning situation. If the average conversion (percentage of visitors) of an online store is less than 1%, then the Landing Page has it from 1% to 50%. But if you do not make the correct structure, texts and design, then there will be no magic, there are no magic sales from the air.
Take a look at the example below. I think it’s clear why on the one-page it’s obvious what is required of the user and where he needs to click. One-page solves the task of performing the target action many times better
Why is site + traffic ≠ money?
By the end of the course you will receive such a tool for converting users to customers as a one-page. Yeah, that's cool! But if you do not have visitors to the site - traffic, then there will be no users, which means there will be no one to turn into customers.
It is important to understand that your product will be sold only in conjunction: a good, high-quality product + good, high-quality landing + good, high-quality traffic channels. Of course, something may be lame, but not all. Therefore, you need to test the traffic channels and hypothesis options for the site to find the following pair: channel / traffic + hypothesis / site = maximum result. Some pairs will be profitable, others will be profitable, and others will be unprofitable. This is normal. Sales always consist of a landing page and a traffic channel.
Hypothesis. This is how you think why they will buy from you, the key phrase here is “You Think”, because the surrounding reality does not agree.
Hypotheses need to be checked for viability. And there is only one way - to make a site with a hypothesis and start up real traffic.
Landing Page and traffic are profitable when two tools are configured. With a systematic approach, you can find what and where does not work, then replace it. Therefore, in any case, you will create a working system. The only thing that is not known is how many steps: for 1 or 10? But with the right approach, which you will learn in this guide, the result is inevitable.
Quality vs. speed?
A site is a tool for converting your visitors to your customers. What is more important here? Make website faster and test? Or come up thoroughly and do it qualitatively, and then test it?
Imagine that there are 4 sites of different quality. One will be initially unprofitable, the second - on the verge, the third and fourth will earn. A similar example can be given for setting up and selecting traffic channels. Some advertising channels and ads will be unprofitable, while others will be profitable. You need to look for what works for your business. The result of investing in advertising can be completely different. You can not pay back the advertising channel, but you can increase the invested money at times.
Oh yes, tell us that we need to quickly test and understand if a niche / product works or not. If you have no experience in dozens of selling pages, writing texts, thorough knowledge of your client and setting up advertising channels, then in 99% of cases you will get a site that initially does not work anymore. And you want to test demand on it? Do you want to make a non-working site as quickly and free as possible, so that later you spend 5,000 - 10,000 rubles on advertising for the test? An ill-conceived website and ill-conceived advertising is a 100% way to “just lose money.” So why waste time, effort and money if the result is initially known?
It's like selling a broken car. To prove with a smart mind to the buyer that she is whole, and then wonder why they do not buy it.
I am not saying that it takes months to lick the page before launching. What is needed is a balance between time and quality. It is better to do a little longer and get results and profits than quickly prove the opposite. Do not play business ... He will definitely win ...
To properly create a site, you need to spend a decent amount of time and energy, and you also need to season it with “made with soul” or “made with love”. But the result, in the form of orders and profits, will pay off all the difficulties. Let's do the WOW effect right away!
Why do 70% of the Landing Page not work?
The task of a single-page is not to sell directly on the forehead, as many people think, but to interest and convert a visitor into some specific action, at a certain stage in the sales funnel. Usually, one of the easiest is to receive an application. Having received the contact of the future client, you are already selling it to him by phone or through email marketing, which is much easier than selling on the site. A sales funnel is the stages a client must go through, from the moment when a person has a realization of a problem - “customer problem” to receiving money - “sale”. Each stage of the sales funnel sells the next stage of the funnel. It is important not to skip steps.
Often I see how more than half of the stages of the sales funnel are thrown out, and then wonder why this does not work. Why no sales. This is the same as learning how to drive a car. We need a theory - practical training on the site - practical training in the city - and only then the rights and the ability to drive a car. Now imagine that you first got behind the wheel and are driving on the Moscow Ring Road. There will inevitably be an accident. So is sales. The client must go through all stages of the sales funnel sequentially, otherwise there will be no sales.
Now in many businesses the meeting phase for simple and clear products has disappeared. It all depends on the specifics of the business and the complexity of the product. Some businesses need 5 or 10 meetings. Sometimes the time from the first contact with the client to the sale can be months and years, and sometimes 5 minutes.
In any case, a 70% sales funnel is customer understanding. As he thinks, his steps are from the problem to the desire to buy, and then sell. No need to sell forehead. Now this does not work. Your business should be built on solving the client’s problem.
A sales funnel is such a logical chain of contacts with a client that at each stage convinces of the “goodness” of the product, the receipt of value, and arouses the desire to buy.
We evaluate the budget and charge positive.
Before starting any business, you first need to figure out how much money you need to spend in order to test something and what will be the possible profit.
You need to understand well how to calculate the cost of advertising channels in order to know what to expect and set real goals, rather than disappointed later. Always rely on numbers in your conclusions. Figures, unlike opinions, do not lie.
Some definitions that we will use in the future to speak the same language:
Visitor - a person who came to your site.
Lead - a potential buyer who contacted you, filled out a purchase request, consultation, ordered a call or clicked the buy button.
Conversion (CTR)- the number of actions performed / divided by the total number of potential visitors who could perform such an action. For example, 100 people visited the site, ordered 1, then CTR = 1%, ordered 10 people, bought 1 CTR = 10%.
The client is the one who bought something from you.
Average check is the amount that one order brings. Not to be confused with profit and product margins. If one order is for 1 rub, and the second is for 9 rub. The average bill is 5 rubles.
Revenue - how much money you have earned.
Gross profit - how much net have you earned and can put in your pocket or spend on vacation, hobbies, dreams.
Business performance (ROI) - if more than 100%, then profitable, less than 100% - unprofitable. It is calculated as the ratio of revenue to costs.
The cost of a lead is determined by the conversion of the Landing Page, which is why everyone is fighting for it. The higher the CTR of the page, the lower the cost of the lead, therefore, more margin and profit are obtained, at the same advertising costs.
To roughly estimate the cost of a lead, you need to estimate the cost of one click and estimate the conversion for the page. This is all very approximate, but at least somehow makes it clear the future picture. Take the average cost-per-click for your topic (e.g. 30 rubles) and the conversion value (e.g. 2%). Because if you pass these tough conditions, and the cost per click is less, and the conversion is higher, then there will be joy and a lot of money.
Calculate how much the lead will cost.
For example, 30 p. / 0.02 = 1,500 rubles. This means to get one application, you need to spend 1,500 rubles. From here, calculate how much you must earn from one sale in order to make a profit. If you sell honey for 500 rubles, then of course this scheme is not at all profitable. And if you are engaged in project documentation, where you can earn more than 1 000 000 rubles from one order, then this is a completely different matter. It all depends on the particular business.
To reduce the price per lead, you can increase the conversion or find a cheaper source of traffic. Or add virality and recommendations.
How does a sales funnel or numbers that change everything.
The sales funnel has two huge advantages. First, you can find problem areas in your business. See at what stage low conversion is and there to treat your business. Secondly, you can see the potential for scaling sales. And these figures change the perception of the world.
|Indicators||Elementary||x2 traffic||x2 conversion (CTR)||x2 CTR and traffic|
|Advertising budget (RUB)||50,000||100,000||50,000||100,000|
|Click cost (RUB)||fifty||fifty||fifty||fifty|
Download sales funnel in Excel format>
Budget calculation for goods (average figures, for indicative estimates)
|Lead price (rub.)||500-5000||500-5000||300-1500||10-100|
|The number of leads / day (pcs.)||1-10||1-20||35-50||30-400|
|Page Conversion (%)||1-5||2-18||5-35||10-20|
|Conversion in payment (%)||50-75||10-40||5-35||1-5|
At least 3 stages, but there can be 5, 10, and 20.
For example, you want 2 orders per day. Of the 3 leads, pay 2.
Then 30 days x 3 leads, that is, 90 leads per month for the price of, for example, 500 rubles. To attract 90 leads x 500 rubles / lead, you need 45,000 rubles. for advertising. This will bring 30 days x 2 orders = 60 orders. Then everything is clear, 1 order costs 750 rubles (45,000 rubles / 60 orders). You add expenses and understand how much you can earn. If it turns out that you are not earning, then you need to look for another advertising channel or change prices. So you initially remove the unnecessary risks.
Therefore, immediately soberly and honestly evaluate: how much you can spend on advertising and what you can earn so you don’t be disappointed later.
Set an adequate goal that we will go together. Yes, if you do not set a goal at this moment, then you can’t take anything from the course except letters. And they will not give you anything. Want a result? Set a goal and we will go to it. This is the only option to get the result.
What do you want to receive after studying the course?
Write on paper and hang it on the refrigerator.
I want to get ____ leads for _____ rubles and place _____ applications for ___.___. 201__.
Text vs. Design? Who will win?
It's just a fact, the success of single-page sales is determined by 80% of the text, and the design only helps to sell. If you have a super design, and the texts are about nothing, then just the design will not sell anything.
Confirmation of this is a huge number of sites on the network that have some kind of design, but no sales.
Text is very important! You need to write such a text so that just by reading it on A4 sheet you already want to buy what you are offering! Then, on the website, such a product cannot be refused. And this is just what we need! It primarily sells text, and design only helps.
How to make a cool text that will bring sales with every word and work for you around the clock? How to make sure that a visitor who comes to you can no longer leave and is guaranteed to buy? About it in the next part.