2013 Setian Vote

    Two billion people worldwide now have access to the Internet, but a third of them are limited in access to a free and open Network due to government censorship, filtering and online surveillance. About 180 journalists, bloggers, and other netizens are currently in prison for their online activity.

    To support their efforts and mark World Cyber ​​Censorship Day, Reporters Without Borders and Google present annually on March 12 the Netizen Award, which aims to raise public awareness of protecting online freedom of expression. Since 2008, the prize has been awarded to journalists, bloggers and other networks who have made a significant contribution to protecting Internet freedom of speech.

    To stimulate interest in the problem among online users, this year the Internet community will determine the winner of the award for the first time. So everyone can leave their vote.

    Until March 5, each Internet user can vote on a special YouTube page for a nominee who, in their opinion, made the most significant contribution to the fight for freedom of information distribution online. The winner - the nominee with the most votes - will be announced on March 7 and will be invited to the award ceremony at the Google headquarters in Paris on March 12.

    This year 9 netians were nominated for the Netizen Prize: Itsmania Pineda Platero (Honduras), Cheikh Fall (Senegal), Oumarou Mohamed Lamine (Mali), Suren Gazaryan (Russia), Murat Tungishbayev (Kazakhstan), Assen Yordanov (Bulgaria), Huynh Ngococ Chenh (Vietnam), Mosireen (Egypt) and Shiva Nazar Ahari (Iran).

    Source: Reporters Without Borders official website

    Also popular now: